Bank holidays

Please find below the list of public and bank holidays in Luxembourg for 2017 and 2018

P = statutory public holiday
B = bank holiday as provided by article 8. IV.A. b) of the Collective Bargaining Agreement for Bank Employees

2017

Sunday (*) 1st January New Year’s Day (P)
Friday 14 April Good Friday (B)
Monday 17 April Easter Monday (P)
Monday 1st May Labour Day (P)
Thursday 25 May Ascension Day (P)
Monday 5 June Whit Monday (P)
Friday 23 June National Holiday (P)
Tuesday 15 August Assumption (P)
Wednesday 1st November All Saints Day (P)
Sunday 24 December Christmas Eve (afternoon) (B)
Monday 25 December Christmas Day (P)
Tuesday 26 December Boxing Day (P)

(*) New Year’s Day fall on a Sunday. In such case, the law stipulates that the employer must grant a compensatory day off within three months of the date of the public holiday (Art. L. 232-3 and Art. L. 232-6(2) of the Labour Code).

2018

Monday 1st January New Year’s Day (P)
Friday 30 March Good Friday (B)
Monday 2 April Easter Monday (P)
Tuesday 1st May Labour Day (P)
Thursday 10 May Ascension Day (P)
Monday 21 May Whit Monday (P)
Saturday (*) 23 June National Holiday (P)
Wednesday 15 August Assumption (P)
Thursday 1st November All Saints Day (P)
Monday 24 December Christmas Eve (afternoon) (B)
Tuesday 25 December Christmas Day (P)
Wednesday 26 December Boxing Day (P)

 

(*) The National Holiday (23 June) falls on a Saturday. In such cases, the law stipulates that the employer must grant a compensatory day off within three months of the date of the public holiday (Art. L. 232-3 and Art. L. 232-6(2) of the Labour Code).