Results of the 2020 Board Elections

ABBL Published 19.06.2020

Guy Hoffmann re-elected as Chairman

Following the annual Ordinary General Assembly held on 9 June, the mandate of Guy Hoffmann, CEO of Banque Raiffeisen, has been renewed by a vote of the ABBL membership.

I am thankful for the support and confidence that the membership has shown me and look forward to continuing the important work that the ABBL undertakes on their behalf.

Guy Hoffmann started in 1987 his professional career at Banque Générale du Luxembourg, where he held various senior positions including Director of Commercial Banking and Head of International Risk Management. In 2007, Guy Hoffmann joined Banque Raiffeisen Luxembourg. He was appointed CEO in 2011.

Guy holds a series of professional mandates. He is Member of the Executive Committee of the European Association of Cooperative Banks (Brussels), Member of the Presidium at the International Raiffeisen Union (Bonn) and Member elect of the Luxembourg Chamber of Commerce.

Guy has a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from Sheffield Hallam University, and completed courses at IMD (Lausanne) and the Chartered Institute of Bankers (London).

Guy Hoffmann has been a Member of the ABBL Board of Directors since 2016. He was elected ABBL Chairman on 20 April 2018, and re-elected in June 2020.

Pierre Étienne, new Vice-Chair

Pierre Etienne Managing Director of Pictet & Cie (Europe) SA, is the newly elected Vice-Chair.

It is vital that our industry stands together and speaks with one voice, and I will work to ensure that the mission of the ABBL is upheld.

Pierre Etienne joined Pictet & Cie (Europe) S.A. in Luxembourg in 2002 and was appointed Managing Director in 2010. He has been a member of the Management Committee of Pictet Luxembourg since 2002, originally responsible for the administrative and operational activities of the Group’s investment fund platform. In 2009 he also joined the Management Committee of the Group’s custodian bank in Geneva.

Before joining Pictet, he held a number of management positions, including head of finance and operations at Banque Fortis in Luxembourg and director of e-banking at Banque Générale du Luxembourg.

Pierre holds a degree in Civil Engineering & Applied Mathematics from the Université Catholique de Louvain and an MBA in Finance from Chicago Business School.

Elected Board Members

Board Members were also elected during the assembly. The Board Members are: Pierre Ahlborn (Banque de Luxembourg), Geoffroy Bazin (BGL BNP Paribas), Stanislas Chambourdin (KPMG), Olivier Chatain (CA Indosuez Wealth), David Claus (The Bank of New York Mellon), Colette Dierick (ING), Pierre Étienne (Pictet & Cie), Falk Fischer (Julius Baer), Joe Hendry (Brown Brothers Harriman), Guy Hoffmann (Banque Raiffeisen), Arnaud Jacquemin (Société Générale Luxembourg), Frank Krings (Deutsche Bank), Marcel Leyers (Banque Internationale à Luxembourg), Philippe Renard (RBC Investor Services Bank), Robert Scharfe (Bourse de Luxembourg), Thorsten Schmidt (Nord/LB Luxembourg), Philippe Seyll (Clearstream Banking), Françoise Thoma (Spuerkeess), Massimo Torchiana (Intesa Sanpaolo Bank), Henri Wagner (Allen & Overy), Lihong Zhou (Bank of China Limited).



Association des Banques et Banquiers, Luxembourg


12, Rue Erasme L-1468 Luxembourg

Phone Fax
Opening hours

Monday to Friday from 8:00 to 17:30.