Digital Banking and FinTech Innovation Cluster


Digital Banking and FinTech Innovation Cluster (DBFI) of the ABBL was created in January 2016. Currently, the Cluster unites 47 members and 6 FinTech Service Pack users interested in exchanging the knowledge and ideas on new disruptive technologies and on how digitalisation and the rise of FinTech may impact the banking sector and the financial services being offered to more and more demanding customers.


The Digital Banking and FinTech Innovation Cluster of the ABBL believes in the ever growing importance of technology and its innovative use in making financial institutions in Luxembourg more customer-centric, technologically advanced, data-driven, and competitive.


The embracement of disruptive technologies and FinTech innovation led by the emerging digital transformation agenda is of high importance for the future of banks and traditional financial service providers.

Through a structured approach, ABBL monitors and follows the efforts and initiatives taken by the Luxembourg Government that puts FinTech issues on its radar in order to strengthen the financial services and ICT sectors at the same time.

The efforts of the DBFI Cluster in coordination with the Government of Luxembourg, LFF, LHoFT, FinTech stakeholders and the concerned financial services sector aim at creating a credible, competitive and reliable FinTech ecosystem in Luxembourg with unique selling points.

The Cluster’s main objective is to support ABBL’s members in achieving the digital transformation of their business


The Digital Banking and FinTech Innovation Cluster is headed by Mr Jean Hilger, Senior Vice-President, Head of Information Technology Department, at Banque et Caisse d’Epargne de l’Etat, assisted by Vice-Head Mr Rolf Bachner, Managing Director, Digital Solutions, at The Bank of New York Mellon (Luxembourg) S.A. and Jean Diederich, Partner, Wavestone.

The Cluster is represented at ABBL’s Board of Directors by Mr Philippe Seyll, co-CEO of Clearstream.

Daily coordination of the DBFI Cluster is assured by Mr Marc Hemmerling, General Counsel – Digital Banking and FinTech, assisted by Mr Andrey Martovoy, FinTech Adviser at the ABBL.


An overview of the current activities of the DBFI Cluster can be accessed here.



Association des Banques et Banquiers, Luxembourg


12, Rue Erasme L-1468 Luxembourg

Phone Fax
Opening hours

Monday to Friday from 8:00 to 17:30.